9-13 May 2016 St Germain au Mont d'Or (France)


High performance computing (HPC) is based on advanced fundamental research in both applied mathematics and computer science. Motivated by both performance and power objectives, today's computing infrastructures evolve toward architectures with an increasing complexity, including sophisticated memory organizations. This is the case even for the mass market with the advent of multicores and GPGPUs, which has exposed the need for parallel programming and related code optimizations to a larger public. Because of this, supercomputing today requires a more global approach, from the design of numerical methods to extensive hardware considerations, in interaction with languages and compilers, to take into account both the complexity of architectures and the needs of their non-expert users.

Research communities in computer science (architecture, compilation) and applied mathematcs (numerical simulation) are not always aware of this need; at least their work do not always spread enough across the other discipline to lead to mutual influence. Automatic code optimizations and tools also require a better evaluation of their applicability. The goal of this research school – or meeting place of two communities – is to make the link between some of the most recent advances in computer science (program optimizations, in particular polyhedral techniques and tools) and applied mathematics (schemes for numerical simulation), in relation with application needs.

This school is therefore interdisciplinary, with a strong will to bring communities together on the common theme of supercomputing.

It is supported by the GDR (research group) Calcul, which is positioned at the interface of these two communities. It is also part of a thematic program on HPC from Labex Milyon proposed by LIP (Laboratoire de l'Informatique de Parallélisme, ENS Lyon) and ICJ (Institut Camille Jordan, Lyon).

This school can be seen as complementary to (but without requiring them as prerequisites) the first school on polyhedral code analysis and optimizations (http://labexcompilation.ens-lyon.fr/polyhedral-school) and the three days of keynotes on parallel languages for HPC (http://labexcompilation.ens-lyon.fr/hpc-languages), two events organized in 2013, also in the context of Labex Milyon.

Im1 Im2 Im3


  • Current and future architectures
  • Discretization, in particular discontinuous Galerkin
  • Code analysis and optimizations, polyhedral techniques
  • Cost models, performance analysis
  • Optimizations for GPU, tiling, automatic tools
  • Languages, programming paradigms, runtimes
  • Numerical precision

The courses will be given in English.


  • Matthieu Haefele (Maison de la Simulation)
  • Markus Püschel (ETH Zürich)
  • Alain Darte (CNRS, ENS Lyon)
  • Philippe Helluy (Univ. Strasbourg)
  • Cindy Rubio-Gonzalez (Univ. California, Davis)
  • Uday Bondhugula (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
  • Sven Verdoolaege (Polly Labs)
  • Ramanujam (Louisiana State Univ.)
  • Thierry Dumont (Univ. Lyon)

Scientific and organizing committees

Scientific committee :

  • Alain Darte, DR CNRS, LIP, ENS Lyon
  • Philippe Helluy, Pr, IRMA, Strasbourg
  • François Irigoin, Mines ParisTech
  • Violaine Louvet, IR CNRS, ICJ, Lyon

Organizing committee :


Official sponsors

This conference is part of the thematic program: HPC from the "laboratoire d'excellence" MILYON, an initiative from the French Ministry of Research. 


and supported by the Groupe Calcul iniitative


the CNRS


and école normale supérieure de Lyon

ENS de Lyon

Online user: 1

9-13 mai 2016 St Germain au Mont d'Or (France)

Présentation

Le calcul hautes performances (HPC, High Performance Computing) s'appuie sur la recherche fondamentale à la fois en mathématiques appliquées et en informatique. Pour répondre à des objectifs à la fois de performance et de consommation, les infrastructures de calcul évoluent vers des architectures de complexité croissante, avec notamment une organisation de la mémoire sophistiquée, ceci même pour des accélérateurs de calcul grand public comme les multicoeurs et GPGPUs qui exposent un plus grand nombre à la nécessité de la programmation parallèle et des optimisations de code afférentes. De ce fait, le calcul intensif nécessite aujourd'hui une approche plus globale, depuis la conception des méthodes numériques jusqu'à des considérations matérielles approfondies, en interaction avec les langages et les compilateurs, pour prendre en compte à la fois la complexité des architectures et les besoins de leurs utilisateurs non-experts.

Les communautés de recherche en informatique (architecture, compilation) et en mathématiques appliquées (calcul numérique) ne sont pas toujours conscientes de cette nécessité d'une vision d'ensemble de la problématique, ou en tous cas leurs travaux ne diffusent pas toujours autant qu'il le faudrait vers l'une ou l'autre de ces disciplines pour permettre une influence mutuelle. Les méthodes et outils automatiques d'optimisation de code nécessitent également une meilleure évaluation de leur applicabilité. L'objectif de cette école de recherche – ou plutôt lieu de rencontres entre deux communautés – est de faire le lien entre certaines des avancées les plus récentes en informatique (optimisation de programmes, notamment techniques et outils polyédriques) et en mathématiques appliquées (schémas pour la simulation numérique), en relation avec les besoins des applications.

Cette école se veut ainsi résolument interdisciplinaire, avec une volonté forte de rapprochement des communautés autour de la thématique commune du calcul intensif.

Elle est soutenue par le GDR Calcul qui se positionne à l'interface de ces communautés. Elle s'inscrit également dans le cadre d'un programme thématique du labex Milyon sur le HPC, proposé par le LIP (Laboratoire de l'Informatique de Parallélisme, ENS Lyon) et l'ICJ (Institut Camille Jordan, Lyon).

Cette école peut être vue comme un prolongement (sans qu'ils en soient un prérequis) de la première école sur les techniques d'analyses et optimisations polyédriques (http://labexcompilation.ens-lyon.fr/polyhedral-school) et des trois jours de présentations concernant les langages parallèles pour le HPC (http://labexcompilation.ens-lyon.fr/hpc-languages), deux évènements organisés en 2013, également dans le cadre du Labex Milyon.

Im1 Im2 Im3

Contenu

  • Architecture actuelles et futures
  • Discrétisation, en particulier Galerkin discontinu
  • Analyses et optimisations de codes, notamment polyédriques
  • Modèles de coût, analyse de performances
  • Optimisations pour GPU, tiling, outils automatiques
  • Langages, paradigmes de programmation, runtime
  • Précision des calculs
 Les cours seront dispensés en anglais.
 

Intervenants

  • Matthieu Haefele (Maison de la Simulation)
  • Markus Püschel (ETH Zürich)
  • Alain Darte (CNRS, ENS Lyon)
  • Philippe Helluy (Univ. Strasbourg)
  • Cindy Rubio-Gonzalez (Univ. California, Davis)
  • Uday Bondhugula (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
  • Sven Verdoolaege (Polly Labs)
  • Ramanujam (Louisiana State Univ.)
  • Thierry Dumont (Univ. Lyon)

Comités scientifique et d'organisation

Comité scientifique :

  • Alain Darte, DR CNRS, LIP, ENS Lyon
  • Philippe Helluy, Pr, IRMA, Strasbourg
  • François Irigoin, Mines ParisTech
  • Violaine Louvet, IR CNRS, GRICAD, Grenoble

 

Comité d'organisation : 

Partenaires

Conférence organisée dans le cadre du trimestre thématique HPC du labex MILyon.

MILyon

Soutenue par le Groupe Calcul 

 

logocalcul_1.jpg

la formation permanente du CNRS

CNRSfr.jpg

et l'école normale supérieure de Lyon

ENS de Lyon

e
Personnes connectées : 1